Irepodun Local Council Development Area was created in January,2017 with its headquarter at Ijokodo. Immediately it was created, the State Local Government Service Commission swung into action by transferring One Hundred and Sixty-five (165) Personnel into the Council for Administrative, Social, Economic and Political Developments and Alhaja Abidemi Qudrah Noibi was appointed as the Council Manager.On the 7th April, 2017 Senator Abiola Ajimobi Sworn-in Hon Abayomi Abolaji as the pioneer Caretaker Chairman of Irepodun Local Development Area along side with other Chairmen in other LGAs and LCDAs in the state and same person was sworn in as the Executive Chairman of this same noble Local Council development Area in April 2018.
Hon. Yinka Kamardeen Oladimeji was sworn in as Caretaker Chairman of Irepodun LCDA on December 24th 2019 after Governor Seyi Makinde dissolved the past Chairmen in May 2019. He is the second to serve in office as the Caretaker Chairman since the creation of Irepodun LCDA.
It should be noted that the created Council Development Area is to carry to the letters Transformation Agenda in respect of human capital development, infrastructural development, urban renewal, Agriculture and Agric business, security of live and properties, rural development, integration, wealth creation and poverty alleviation.
Irepodun Local Council Development Area was created to give dividend of democracy to the masses at the grassroot level. Thus, its creation is progressively toned with University of Ibadan and the Polytechnic Ibadan. Apart from the Educational Institutions, the LCDA also have Hotels with restrooms, relaxation joints, Zoological Garden etc.
The indigenes of Irepodun Local Council Development Area are predominantly Yoruba’s of Ibadan ethnic origin and also other inhabitants which cut across racial, religious and ethnic background. It must be stated that indigenes of Irepodun Council Development Area Comprises of civil servants, artisans, petty traders, business women and men engaging in buying and selling of different types of goods, ranging from household needs, foodstuff, building/electrical materials.
The present Irepodun Local Development Area was carved out of Ibadan North Local Government with ten (10) which are listed below:
One 1: Mokola Junction by the left to Adamasingba road, Oke Esu
Alafia Hospital, Sabo opposite mosque and Sabo opposite stadium.
Two2: From Adamasingba road to the right, Sabo bridge road by
The right, Ile-Otu, Mosque and palace area.
Three3: From Sabo bridge to sobande Junction , part of Sabo,
Morilewa Area, Wemimark, Celestial Area, Oremeji sobande by the left.
Four4: From Sobande Road by the right to Railway line at Sango
Sobande, Oke-Itunu Obadare, Elewure, Baba sala, Railway line.
Five5: From Eleyele Junction by the right to Expoyo (Trade fair) to Agbaje Village (Police Barrack), Sango Inter –State Motor park, the whole of Ijokodo Community, Gbaremu Area and the whole of Agbaje Community.
Six 6: Okoro Village, new adamasingba, kalejaye, kolawole area, mechanic village terminating at Eledu river.
Seven7: Alaro and patako (Alemuloke): Patako Alaro, Adebayo Idi-Ito, Iso Pako and akorede area.
Eight 8: Sango and Environs: Benbo, Odo bale, Local Ojurin, Sango market, Temidire, Taiwo street area.
Nine 9: From trade fair (EXPOYO) Including THE WHOLE OF U.I to Barika and Ajetumobi street by the left, Emmanuel college Area, U.I Abadina, barika, water, part of orogun part of Agbegba, ojokondo.
Ten 10: From Ajetunmobi street by the right to express road, part of Barika, Irepodun, Aba Apata, ansar-ud-deen Area, express.